This act summary is provided for the convenience of the public and members of the General Assembly. It is intended to provide a general summary of the act and may not be exhaustive. It has been prepared by the staff of the Office of Legislative Council without input from members of the General Assembly. It is not intended to aid in the interpretation of legislation or to serve as a source of legislative intent.

## Act No. 170 (H.636). Fish and wildlife; licensing; enforcement; incidental trapping; coyote competitions

## An act relating to miscellaneous fish and wildlife subjects

This act amends several fish and wildlife laws. The Commissioner of Fish and Wildlife (Commissioner) is authorized to designate information as confidential if its release could harm a species or its habitat. The Agency of Natural Resources may convey, exchange, sell, or lease lands owned by the Department of Fish and Wildlife to resolve trespass or boundary issues. A license agent shall retain a \$1.50 filing for each lottery application processed.

A federal waterfowl stamp and a State waterfowl stamp are required to hunt migratory waterfowl. The act clarifies what constitutes a "fish and wildlife violation." Muzzle-loading shotguns are added to the list of weapons that may not be fired from a motor vehicle, and a person who possesses a crossbow, muzzle-loading rifle, or muzzle-loading shotgun in a motor vehicle is required to show the weapon to a law enforcement officer if asked.

A person shall not transport into, transport within, transport through, or possess in the State a wild bird or wild animal without the Commissioner's authorization. Similarly, a person is prohibited from: bringing into the State wildlife illegally taken out of State; placing a Vermont wildlife tag on wildlife taken out of State; or reporting in Vermont big game taken out of State.

The act requires a person who incidentally traps a dog or cat to notify the Commissioner. The Commissioner shall keep records of all trapped dogs and cats. A person who traps for compensation is required by the act to have a trapping license.

A person shall not hold or participate in a coyote hunting competition. A person shall be fined no more than \$1,000 nor less than \$400 for holding or participating in a coyote hunting competition. A person shall receive 10 points on their hunting license for participating in a coyote hunting competition and 20 points for holding a coyote hunting competition. The Commissioner shall review criminal and civil charges for fish and wildlife violations.

Multiple effective dates, beginning May 22, 2018